Monday, November 29, 2021

Latest Posts

Lagos, Kano, Kaduna top INEC Polling Units list

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Wednesday announced the creation of additional 56, 872 Polling Units (PUS) across the country.

The new development leaves Nigeria with a total of 176,846 full-fledged PUS.

A breakdown of the 176,846 PUs shows Lagos topping the list with 13,390. It is followed by Kano with 11,222 and Kaduna with 8,012.

A zonal analysis of the PUs,  has the Northwest topping with 41,671 followed by Southwest with 34,868. Northcentral has 27,514; Southsouth, 27, 126; Northwest, 24, 806 and Southeast, 21,631.

INEC Chairman  Mahmood Yakabu said in Abuja yesterday that the new PUs were historical because they were achieved 25 years after previous attempts.

Out of the 749 , “232 were removed from private properties; 145 from  palaces; six from mosques;  21  from churches and nine from shrines.”

Yakubu disclosed that “for subsequent elections, beginning from the Anambra State Governorship poll holding on 6th November 2021, there will be no voting points any more in Nigeria.”

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

%d bloggers like this: