Saturday, November 27, 2021

Latest Posts

Guardiola wins Premier League Manager of the Season Award

Pep Guardiola has been crowned the 2020/21 Premier League Manager of the Season after guiding Manchester City to their third title in four years.

The 50-year-old tactician edged out fellow nominees Leeds United’s Marcelo Bielsa, West Ham United’s David Moyes, Leicester City’s Brendan Rodgers and Manchester United’s Ole Gunnar Solskjaer to the award.

“Guardiola wins the award for a third time in his managerial career, having also claimed it in his two previous title-winning campaigns, 2017/18 and 2018/19.

“The Spaniard made history this season as his Man City side became the first team in history to win the title after being as low as eighth on Christmas Day, masterminding a 15-match winning run to take the PL Trophy back off Liverpool.

“He matches the three Manager of the Season awards earned by Arsene Wenger and Jose Mourinho, with only Sir Alex Ferguson having won it on more occasions, with 11. Those three men are also the only managers in PL history who can match Guardiola’s three title wins,” a league statement read.

The former Barcelona and Bayern Munich manager’s win caps a prestigious awards hat-trick for City with Ruben Dias confirmed as Premier League Player of the Season and Phil Foden named as Premier League Young Player of the Season.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

%d bloggers like this: