President Buhari Inaugurates 30-Member Panel to Review Minimum Wage

By  | 

Members of organised labour who have been clamouring for an increase in the minimum wage now have something to cheer about as President Muhammadu Buhari has inaugurated a 30-member committee for the renegotiation of the minimum wage.

The tripartite National Minimum Wage Committee was sworn-in inside the council chamber of the Presidential villa Abuja on Monday.

Present at the event were All Progressives Congress governors, Rochas Okorocha of Imo, Rauf Aregbesola of Osun, Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi and Simon Lalong of Plateau, as members of the 30-member committee, Premium Times reports.

Two of their PDP colleagues who are also members of the committee,  Nyesom Wike of Rivers and Ibrahim Dankwambo of Gombe, were notably absent.

President Buhari is reported to have said the current minimum wage in the country has already expired and is due for a change.

He said after the completion of the work of this 30-man committee, an executive bill would be sent to the National Assembly “to undergo scrutiny before being passed into law”.

The committee has a former Head of Service and Minister of Housing, Ama Pepple, as chairperson, while the current Minister of Labour and employment, Chris Ngige, will serve as deputy chairman.

The chairman, National Salaries, Income and Wages Commission, Richard Egbule, will serve as the secretary of the committee.

Other members of the committee are Udo Udoma, Minister, Budget and Planning; Kemi Adeosun, Minister of Finance; Winifred  Oyo – Ita, Head of the Civil Service of the Federation and Roy Ugo, the Permanent Secretary, General Services Office, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation.

The Nigeria Governors’ Forum, NGF, is equally represented in the committee by the select APC and PDP governors.

The DG of NGF, Asishana Okauru, will serve as an observer.

On the Trade Union side are the President, Nigeria Labour Congress, NLC, Ayuba Wabba, who leads a team comprising of Peters Adeyemi, Kiri Mohammed, Amechi Asugwuni and Peter Ozo-Eson.

The Trade Union Congress is led by its President, Bobboi Kaigama, and other members including Sunday Salako and Alade Lawa.

The President, Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers, NUPENG, Igwe Achese, is also a member.

On the employers’ side are Olusegun Oshinowo, Director General, Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association, NECA, as well as Timothy Olawale and Chuma Nwankwo.

The Director General, Federation of  Construction Industry, FOCI, Olubunmi Adekoje, Chairman, Kaduna East Branch, Manufacturers’ Association, MAN, Ahmed Gobir and Francis Oluwagbenro also from MAN are members.

Members also include Muheeba Dankaka, President, Kano Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture, NACCIMA and Degun Agboade, President, Nigeria Association of Small and Medium Enterprises, NASME.

Bitrus Iliyasu

Lover of life, pito and all the days when the sun hesitates to rise. Son of Kataf, wielder of opinions.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *